Skip to main content

Sighting Location

Select Location

Location: Lees Summit, Missouri, United States

The following ISS sightings are possible from Tuesday Oct 22, 2019 through Friday Nov 22, 2019

Date Visible Max Height Appears Disappears Share Event
Thu Nov 7, 4:58 AM 1 min 11° 11° above NNE 10° above NNE  
Fri Nov 8, 5:44 AM 4 min 25° 11° above NNW 18° above ENE  
Sat Nov 9, 4:58 AM 2 min 18° 18° above NNE 12° above ENE  
Sun Nov 10, 5:45 AM 3 min 59° 18° above NW 36° above E  
Mon Nov 11, 4:59 AM 1 min 35° 35° above NE 22° above E  
Mon Nov 11, 6:33 AM < 1 min 15° 11° above WNW 15° above W  
Tue Nov 12, 5:46 AM 4 min 43° 29° above W 10° above SSE  
Wed Nov 13, 5:00 AM 2 min 41° 41° above SE 12° above SE  
Thu Nov 14, 5:47 AM 2 min 14° 14° above SW 10° above SSW  
Fri Nov 15, 5:01 AM < 1 min 12° 12° above S 10° above S  
Tue Nov 19, 6:25 PM 1 min 16° 10° above S 16° above SSE  
Wed Nov 20, 7:12 PM 1 min 23° 10° above SW 23° above SW  

The following CYGNUS sightings are possible from Tuesday Oct 22, 2019 through Friday Nov 22, 2019

Date Visible Max Height Appears Disappears Share Event
Wed Oct 23, 7:10 AM 2 min 24° 11° above S 24° above SE  
Thu Oct 24, 6:38 AM 3 min 19° 10° above S 19° above SE  
Fri Oct 25, 6:06 AM 2 min 16° 10° above SSE 16° above SE  
Sat Oct 26, 5:34 AM 2 min 13° 10° above SSE 12° above ESE  
Sat Oct 26, 7:09 AM 7 min 70° 10° above WSW 11° above NE  
Sun Oct 27, 5:02 AM < 1 min 10° 10° above SE 10° above ESE  
Sun Oct 27, 6:37 AM 6 min 86° 12° above SW 11° above NE  
Mon Oct 28, 6:06 AM 5 min 76° 40° above SW 10° above NE  
Tue Oct 29, 5:35 AM 3 min 43° 43° above E 10° above ENE  
Tue Oct 29, 7:10 AM 6 min 22° 10° above WNW 10° above NNE  
Wed Oct 30, 5:05 AM < 1 min 15° 15° above ENE 11° above ENE  
Wed Oct 30, 6:39 AM 4 min 25° 20° above WNW 11° above NNE  
Thu Oct 31, 6:08 AM 3 min 28° 28° above NNW 11° above NNE  
Fri Nov 1, 5:36 AM 1 min 19° 19° above NNE 10° above NE  
Fri Nov 1, 7:12 AM 3 min 12° 10° above NW 10° above NNE  
Sat Nov 2, 6:40 AM 3 min 13° 12° above NNW 10° above NNE  
Sun Nov 3, 5:08 AM 1 min 13° 13° above N 10° above NNE  
Mon Nov 4, 4:37 AM < 1 min 11° 11° above NNE 11° above NNE  
Mon Nov 4, 6:13 AM 2 min 11° 10° above NNW 10° above NNE  
Tue Nov 5, 5:40 AM 2 min 11° 10° above NNW 10° above NNE  
Wed Nov 6, 5:08 AM 1 min 10° 10° above N 10° above NNE  
2019-11-07 10:58:00.0,Thu Nov 7, 4:58 AM,1 min,11°,11° above NNE,10° above NNE|2019-11-08 11:44:00.0,Fri Nov 8, 5:44 AM,4 min,25°,11° above NNW,18° above ENE|2019-11-09 10:58:00.0,Sat Nov 9, 4:58 AM,2 min,18°,18° above NNE,12° above ENE|2019-11-10 11:45:00.0,Sun Nov 10, 5:45 AM,3 min,59°,18° above NW,36° above E|2019-11-11 10:59:00.0,Mon Nov 11, 4:59 AM,1 min,35°,35° above NE,22° above E|2019-11-11 12:33:00.0,Mon Nov 11, 6:33 AM,< 1 min,15°,11° above WNW,15° above W|2019-11-12 11:46:00.0,Tue Nov 12, 5:46 AM,4 min,43°,29° above W,10° above SSE|2019-11-13 11:00:00.0,Wed Nov 13, 5:00 AM,2 min,41°,41° above SE,12° above SE|2019-11-14 11:47:00.0,Thu Nov 14, 5:47 AM,2 min,14°,14° above SW,10° above SSW|2019-11-15 11:01:00.0,Fri Nov 15, 5:01 AM,< 1 min,12°,12° above S,10° above S|2019-11-20 00:25:00.0,Tue Nov 19, 6:25 PM,1 min,16°,10° above S,16° above SSE|2019-11-21 01:12:00.0,Wed Nov 20, 7:12 PM,1 min,23°,10° above SW,23° above SW|

The space station looks like an airplane or a very bright star moving across the sky, except it doesn’t have flashing lights or change direction. It will also be moving considerably faster than a typical airplane (airplanes generally fly at about 600 miles per hour; the space station flies at 17,500 miles per hour).

Below is a time-lapse photo of the space station moving across the sky.

The International Space Station is seen in this 30 second exposure as it flies over Elkton, VA early in the morning, Saturday, August 1, 2015. Photo Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls The International Space Station is seen in this 30 second exposure as it flies over Elkton, VA early in the morning, Saturday, August 1, 2015. Photo Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls

Visit the NASA Johnson Flickr Photostream

How do I Spot The Station?

What does all this sighting information mean?

Time is when the sighting opportunity will begin in your local time zone. All sightings will occur within a few hours before or after sunrise or sunset. This is the optimum viewing period as the sun reflects off the space station and contrasts against the darker sky.

Visible is the maximum time period the space station is visible before crossing back below the horizon.

Max Height is measured in degrees (also known as elevation). It represents the height of the space station from the horizon in the night sky. The horizon is at zero degrees, and directly overhead is ninety degrees. If you hold your fist at arm’s length and place your fist resting on the horizon, the top will be about 10 degrees.

Appears is the location in the sky where the station will be visible first. This value, like maximum height, also is measured in degrees from the horizon. The letters represent compass directions -- N is north, WNW is west by northwest, and so on.

Disappears represents where in the night sky the International Space Station will leave your field of view.

Astronomical Horizon