Skip to main content

Sighting Location

Select Location

Location: Istanbul, Turkey

The following ISS sightings are possible from Friday Nov 1, 2019 through Thursday Nov 28, 2019

Date Visible Max Height Appears Disappears Share Event
Thu Nov 14, 4:29 AM < 1 min 17° 17° above SE 12° above SE  
Tue Nov 19, 6:41 PM < 1 min 11° 10° above S 11° above S  
Wed Nov 20, 5:54 PM 1 min 13° 10° above SSE 13° above SE  
Thu Nov 21, 6:41 PM 2 min 34° 10° above SW 34° above SW  
Fri Nov 22, 5:52 PM 4 min 37° 11° above SSW 28° above E  
Sat Nov 23, 5:05 PM 5 min 21° 11° above S 11° above E  
Sat Nov 23, 6:42 PM 1 min 40° 25° above W 40° above WNW  
Sun Nov 24, 5:54 PM 3 min 74° 34° above WSW 26° above NE  
Mon Nov 25, 5:05 PM 5 min 63° 28° above SSW 11° above ENE  
Mon Nov 25, 6:42 PM 1 min 22° 14° above WNW 22° above NW  
Tue Nov 26, 5:54 PM 3 min 31° 22° above WNW 20° above NNE  
Wed Nov 27, 5:06 PM 4 min 47° 36° above WNW 10° above NE  
Wed Nov 27, 6:42 PM 1 min 14° 11° above NW 14° above NNW  

The following CYGNUS sightings are possible from Friday Nov 1, 2019 through Thursday Nov 28, 2019

Date Visible Max Height Appears Disappears Share Event
Sat Nov 2, 4:16 AM 1 min 19° 19° above NNE 11° above NE  
Sat Nov 2, 5:50 AM 4 min 16° 10° above NW 11° above NNE  
Sun Nov 3, 5:19 AM 3 min 17° 16° above NNW 10° above NNE  
Mon Nov 4, 4:47 AM 2 min 17° 17° above N 11° above NNE  
Tue Nov 5, 4:16 AM < 1 min 11° 11° above NNE 10° above NNE  
Tue Nov 5, 5:51 AM 4 min 15° 10° above NNW 10° above NE  
Wed Nov 6, 5:19 AM 4 min 15° 12° above NNW 10° above NE  
Thu Nov 7, 4:48 AM 2 min 15° 15° above N 11° above NE  
Fri Nov 8, 4:16 AM < 1 min 12° 12° above NNE 11° above NNE  
Fri Nov 8, 5:51 AM 5 min 24° 11° above NW 16° above ENE  
Sat Nov 9, 5:19 AM 4 min 22° 16° above NNW 15° above ENE  
Sun Nov 10, 4:48 AM 2 min 20° 20° above NNE 12° above ENE  
Mon Nov 11, 4:17 AM 1 min 15° 15° above NE 11° above ENE  
Mon Nov 11, 5:50 AM 4 min 63° 12° above NW 38° above E  
Tue Nov 12, 5:19 AM 3 min 53° 29° above NNW 29° above E  
Wed Nov 13, 4:48 AM 2 min 44° 44° above NE 23° above E  
Wed Nov 13, 6:23 AM 2 min 24° 10° above WNW 24° above WSW  
Thu Nov 14, 4:17 AM < 1 min 24° 24° above E 17° above E  
Thu Nov 14, 5:51 AM 5 min 30° 18° above W 11° above SSE  
Fri Nov 15, 5:20 AM 4 min 37° 36° above WSW 10° above SSE  
Sat Nov 16, 4:50 AM 2 min 27° 27° above SSE 11° above SSE  
Sun Nov 17, 4:19 AM < 1 min 12° 12° above SE 10° above SE  
Thu Nov 21, 6:56 PM < 1 min 11° 11° above SSW 11° above SSW  
Fri Nov 22, 6:23 PM 2 min 20° 10° above S 20° above SSE  
2019-11-14 02:29:00.0,Thu Nov 14, 4:29 AM,< 1 min,17°,17° above SE,12° above SE|2019-11-19 16:41:00.0,Tue Nov 19, 6:41 PM,< 1 min,11°,10° above S,11° above S|2019-11-20 15:54:00.0,Wed Nov 20, 5:54 PM,1 min,13°,10° above SSE,13° above SE|2019-11-21 16:41:00.0,Thu Nov 21, 6:41 PM,2 min,34°,10° above SW,34° above SW|2019-11-22 15:52:00.0,Fri Nov 22, 5:52 PM,4 min,37°,11° above SSW,28° above E|2019-11-23 15:05:00.0,Sat Nov 23, 5:05 PM,5 min,21°,11° above S,11° above E|2019-11-23 16:42:00.0,Sat Nov 23, 6:42 PM,1 min,40°,25° above W,40° above WNW|2019-11-24 15:54:00.0,Sun Nov 24, 5:54 PM,3 min,74°,34° above WSW,26° above NE|2019-11-25 15:05:00.0,Mon Nov 25, 5:05 PM,5 min,63°,28° above SSW,11° above ENE|2019-11-25 16:42:00.0,Mon Nov 25, 6:42 PM,1 min,22°,14° above WNW,22° above NW|2019-11-26 15:54:00.0,Tue Nov 26, 5:54 PM,3 min,31°,22° above WNW,20° above NNE|2019-11-27 15:06:00.0,Wed Nov 27, 5:06 PM,4 min,47°,36° above WNW,10° above NE|2019-11-27 16:42:00.0,Wed Nov 27, 6:42 PM,1 min,14°,11° above NW,14° above NNW|

The space station looks like an airplane or a very bright star moving across the sky, except it doesn’t have flashing lights or change direction. It will also be moving considerably faster than a typical airplane (airplanes generally fly at about 600 miles per hour; the space station flies at 17,500 miles per hour).

Below is a time-lapse photo of the space station moving across the sky.

The International Space Station is seen in this 30 second exposure as it flies over Elkton, VA early in the morning, Saturday, August 1, 2015. Photo Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls The International Space Station is seen in this 30 second exposure as it flies over Elkton, VA early in the morning, Saturday, August 1, 2015. Photo Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls

Visit the NASA Johnson Flickr Photostream

How do I Spot The Station?

What does all this sighting information mean?

Time is when the sighting opportunity will begin in your local time zone. All sightings will occur within a few hours before or after sunrise or sunset. This is the optimum viewing period as the sun reflects off the space station and contrasts against the darker sky.

Visible is the maximum time period the space station is visible before crossing back below the horizon.

Max Height is measured in degrees (also known as elevation). It represents the height of the space station from the horizon in the night sky. The horizon is at zero degrees, and directly overhead is ninety degrees. If you hold your fist at arm’s length and place your fist resting on the horizon, the top will be about 10 degrees.

Appears is the location in the sky where the station will be visible first. This value, like maximum height, also is measured in degrees from the horizon. The letters represent compass directions -- N is north, WNW is west by northwest, and so on.

Disappears represents where in the night sky the International Space Station will leave your field of view.

Astronomical Horizon